Lord Dunsany (Edward Plunkett)

Reading Lord Dunsany… The fantasist and horror-writer’s Shakespeare. And even that is putting him in a box that he never stayed in!

Examining the Odd

A Dreamer's Tales

Irish fantasy author Lord Dunsany (1878-1957) is one of my all time favourite writers. His work is so different to anything else that I have read, and the exciting point for me is that I haven’t read them all yet (it’s a pretty big body of work)!

220px-Edward_Plunkett,_18th_Baron_DunsanyThe King of Elfland’s Daughter is my favourite so far, and it’s probably the most famous of his books too. It’s well known that Dunsany was a keen hunter and it’s not so well known that I’m a keen vegetarian and animal lover, so I’m sure I receive The King of Elfland’s Daughter (which contains a fair amount of hunting) quite differently to how he perhaps intended. Having said that, Dunsany was also an animal rights campaigner and was president of his local RSPCA branch, so he confuses me greatly! I guess it had something to do with the difference between animal and

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

